Pulling for Peace



The 2016 "International Tug of War" has been cancelled.

The 2015 "International Tug of War" has been cancelled.


In 2014 the flooding in our area made it impossible to host the Pull.  The Rainy River was declared the winner, and both sides agreed to a Dragon Boat grudge match race instead!.  There was a Peace Party held at the Pat Roche Landing on the US side, and both countries celebrated their partnership and our beautiful, 360 degree community!



July 2nd 2013 Tug of War winner: Team U.S.A.

U.S.A. won all 3 pulls: Celebrity Tug, Community Tug, and Power Tug (for the trophy)


2013 Team Canada

1. Roy "Ace" Avis Mayor
2. Jamshed "The General" Merchant Can. Consulate
3. Paul "Foot Pedal Down" Ryan Councillor
4. Ken "Polka Dot" Perry Councillor
5. Andrew "Flying Finn" Hallikas Councillor
6. Rick "Weed Man" Wiedenhoeft Councillor
7. Mark "Cheeze" McCaig C.A.O.
8. Doug "Mork" Brown Town Engineer
9. "Fabulous" Faye Flatt Town Planner
10. Frank "The Tank" Sheppard Fire Chief
11. Dave "The Enforcer" Montgomery Football Coach
12. Jack "The Hammer" Cameron C.F.L.
13. John "Relentless" Rafferty M.P.
14. Sarah "Soupy" Campbell M.P.P.
15. Ian "Simmering" Simpson Principal
16. Al "The Anchor" Katz Hospital CAO
17. Jason "Kabes" Kabel Town Manager
18. Danielle "Dani-Lion" Fisher Ex. Assistant
19. Annalee "The Force" Armstrong FF Chamber
20. Howard "The Hitman" Hampton M.P.P.
21. Ahamadou "Hammy" Idrissou Prof. Soccer
22. Luke "The Strong Man" Skaarup Union Gas

2013 Team USA

Team Coach, Frank Youso, Minnesota Viking Alumnus
Team Captain, Greg Coleman, Minnesota Viking Alumnus
Carl Eller, Minnesota Viking Alumnus, Hall of Fame Inductee Stu Voigt, Minnesota Viking Alumnus
Ragnar, Minnesota Viking Mascot
Nick Triplett, Minnesota Viking Alumnus
Neil Sheehy, NHL Alumnus - press release page
Billy "The Kidd" Christianson, MMA Fighter
Nick Reece, MMA Fighter
Jake Youso, Holy Cross college hockey player
US Senator Amy Klobuchar
State Senator Tom Bakk
Bob Anderson, Mayor
Paul Eklund, City Council
Cynthia Jaksa, City Council
Pete Kalar, City Council
Gail Rognerud, City CouncilJerry Jensen, Fire Chief
Brian Jesperson, Sheriff
Dave Stewart, Super One
Jay Hamm, Menards
Elena Favela, Rainy River Community College

Thank you to this years sponsors:

City of International Falls, Town of Fort Frances, Consulat General of Canada, International Falls Chamber of Commerce, Voyagers National Park, Boston Pizza, Days Inn, Rainy Lake Houseboats, Menards, Border Bob's, DoIt Best, Knights of Columbus, and Backus Community Center.

Fort Frances Chamber Manager Annely Armstrong and International Falls Chamber Manager Faye Whitbeck have breakfast with Canadian Consul General Jamshed Merchant

Pulling for Peace organizer Rick Weidenhoft is ready for the pull!

Voyageur's Park Celebrity Boat tour prior to the pull

John and Mrs. Albanese enjoying the boat tour

John Albanese and Viking's mascot Ragnar

Voyageur's National Park Celebrity boat tour group